Forside | Kurv (bestil) | Nyheder | Tilbud | Vilkår | Markeder | Nyheder på vej | Kontakt | Super Søg
Vis kurv

0 vare(r) i kurven 
I alt 0,00 DKK
Varekort Bobbie Gentry - Girl From Chickasaw County - The Complete Capitol Masters [VINYL] (2-LP)
Varenavn Bobbie Gentry - Girl From Chickasaw County - The Complete Capitol Masters [VINYL] (2-LP)
Varenummer CAPN 53956561

Girl From Chickasaw County -
The Complete Capitol Masters
High Quality, Limited Edition, Insert
Bobbie Gentry

Vinyl LP (August 5, 2022)
Original Release Date: 2022
Number of Discs: 2
Format: High Quality, Limited Edition, LP
Label: Capitol Nashville
Genre : Country

Bobbie is notable as one of the first female country artists to compose and produce her own material. During her five-year tenure at Capitol, she penned at least two songs that have become certified classics, ‘Ode to Billie Joe’ and ‘Fancy’, among dozens of original compositions.

Bobbie released eight Capitol albums in total, heralded by the smash hit debut ‘Ode to Billie Joe’ (Which displaced Sgt. Pepper’s Lonely-Hearts Club Band from the top of the charts in the US). Delta Sweete, her third, is another highlight. MOJO magazine listed it in their top 500 greatest albums of all time and memorably described her as the ‘JD Salinger of rock n roll.’

She quit the scene over 40 years ago (1978), and unlike everyone who returns, she has stayed out of sight. She remains one of the few genuine mysteries of popular music. Because she was so popular (No.1 singles/Albums, BBC TV series, Vegas residency) her abilities as a writer, producer and arranger were too often overlooked, she paved the way for Joni Mitchell and Carly Simon. Bobbie’s songs continue to influence a new generation of artists like Cheryl Crow, Beth Orton, Lucinda Williams and Roseanne Cash all of whom have cited her as an influence and covered her songs.

In 2018 UMC released Capitol years boxset consisted of 8CDs, this is the first ever large-scale retrospective containing the first UK reissues of her albums in their entirety – supplemented by 76 previously unreleased demos, outtakes and alternate takes from all Bobbie’s Capitol albums.

These new formats (2CD / 2LP) are cut down versions of the boxset and feature a selection of the unreleased bonus material from the 8CD package, including an alternate take of Sunday Best, demo of Hurry, Tuesday Child, Mississippi Delta alternate version and many more. The CD will have a 38 page book, the LP will have a 12”12” insert with a selection of images used in the boxset and sleeve notes.

Disc 1.

01. Ode To Billie Joe
02. Chickasaw County Child
03. Hurry, Tuesday Child
- -. (Demo)
04. Sunday Best
- -. (Alternate Take)
05. Mississippi Delta
- -. (Alternate Version)
06. Okolona River Bottom Band
07. Refractions
08. Courtyard
09. Mornin' Glory
10. Sweete Peony
. ., (Alternate Version)
11. Casket Vignette
12. Recollection
13. Sittin' Pretty
14. Hushabye Mountain
15. Conspiracy of Homer Jones
16. Sunday Mornin'
- -. (Alternate Version)
17. Let It Be Me
- -. (Duet With Glen Campbell)
- -. (Without Strings)

Disc 2.

01. God Bless the Child
02. This Girl's In Love With You
03. Touch 'Em With Love
- -. (Stereo Version)
04. Seasons Come, Seasons Go
- -. (Demo)
05. Glory Hallelujah, How They'll Sing
- -. (Alternate Take)
06. Fancy
07. He Made a Woman Out of Me
08. Rainmaker
09. Circle 'Round the Sun
10. Apartment 21
- -. (Stereo Version)
11. Benjamin
12. But I Can't Get Back
13. Lookin' In
14. Smoke
15. Joanne
16. The Girl From Cincinnati

Bobbie Gentry - Girl From Chickasaw County - The Complete Capitol Masters [VINYL] (2-LP)

1stk. 299,95 DKK

  «-Tilbage          Anbefal   Print

Hvis du har nogle spørgsmål er du velkommen til at kontakte os på